Gaza scholarships at Oxford Brookes University

Oxford Brookes University, the origins of which date back to the 19th century and the establishment of the former Oxford School of Art, was renamed in 1992 to honour its former principal, John Brookes. Oxford Brookes has four faculties (business; health and life sciences; humanities and social sciences; and technology, design and environment) and 18 schools of stBrookesudy. Around 4,000 postgraduates, out of a student body of some 18,000 students, pursue a diverse range of Master’s degrees. In the most recent Research Assessment Exercise, over three-quarters of the university’s research was recognised internationally, with research in law, education, the arts, sciences and health judged world-leading.

As part of its scholarship programme, the Foundation supports the Oxford Brookes Gaza Scholarship Scheme, which was proposed by supporters of the University as a sign to the people of Gaza that they are not forgotten. The Scheme brings one Gazan Master’s student to Oxford Brookes per year.  Since 2013 the Scheme has supported three Gazan students, who have studied public health, computing and E-Business.